Glen Island Casino

One of Westchester’s unique jewels, Glen Island was originally created in 1879 as a summer resort for a business representitive named John H. Starin. In 1923, Glen Island Park and Casino was acquired by Westchester County.

The Glen Island Casino was a springboard to success during the 1930's Big Band Era, including that of Ozzie Nelson, Charlie Barnet, Claude Thornhill, Les Brown and the Dorsey Brothers.

In March of 1939, Glenn Miller and his orchestra got their big break when they were chosen to play a summer season at the prestigious Glen Island Casino.

The casino was closed in 1978, but reopened in December 1983. The original shell of the building and the dance floor in the second-floor ballroom, where the bands played, were retained.

Most recently, a new era has begun. After a $10 million dollar renovation, the Glen Island Casino transformed into the Glen Island Harbour Club—Westchester's premier banquet facility—where new, everlasting memories are created.